My Breastfeeding Journey

I’ve been breastfeeding my son for a total of 18 months now, direct feeding and pumping when I’m at work.

I’m planning to stop pumping already. Today was a testament that it will nit be a very easy thing to do. It’s hard letting go of something you’re doing coz you know your son is the one depending on it.

Today, I really thought I will be missing a pumping session for the first time in 18 months. Just imagine my SepAnx (separation anxiety)  attack. I do plan to stop pumping on my birthday and just continue directly feeding my son at home.

What happened earlier was really unexpected. I cried with just the thought of missing 1 frigging session.

Isn’t that laughable? But heck, I was really down. Good thing my Supervisor allowed me to use the conference room. Dang! If nit I may have been sulking the whole day.

image

My breastfeeding was never easy, it was not a walk in the park. It was a sacrifice I chose to go through since I know my milk is the best gift I could give my son.

Some say I was lucky to still be able to produce milk until now, but I would beg to disagree, this isn’t luck. It was pure hard work and love.

I know I’m doing something good for my son.

Stopping to express milk at work is a very hard decision I had to decide on. With the kind of job I have (IT of a grocery store) it’s really hard to squeeze expression as a daily routine.

I guess 18 months may not be enough, but I know I did the best I could for my son. I will continue to breastfeed him until he decides to wean.

Erika 🙂
@reikableu

 

Posted from WordPress for Android
Twitter: @reikableu

Leave a Reply

