Quote #4 of 365

Lute Music

Lute (/luːt/) can refer generally to any string instrument having the strings running in a plane parallel to the sound table (in the Hornbostel–Sachs system), more specifically to any plucked string instrument with a neck (either fretted or unfretted) and a deep round back

My soul gave me good counsel, teaching me that the lamp I carry does not belong to me, and the song that I sing was not generated from within me. Even if I walk with light, I am not the light; and if I am a taut-stringed lute, I am not the lute-player.

Jalil al-Din Rumi (1207-73), Persia

a5lute1

Leave a Reply

